Makati City – Five (5) Cofffee farmer-processors hailed the top spots in the recently concluded Philippine Quality Coffee Competition (PCQC) held at ONE Ayala, Makati City from June 7-9, 2024. The competition is an annual event which aims to give recognition to the top quality coffee in the country.

This year, SOCCSKSARGEN region were among the top producers of best quality coffee based on the results of the competition. Sultan Kudarat produced four (4) awardees out of 12 entries under Robusta category while Cotabato province has a lone awardee under Arabica category.

Basco brothers, Rey John and Roan adjudged as top 1 & top 2 with an average score of 86.45 and 86.43, respectively . Meanwhile, Denz Bert Deramos and Orlando Bayudan landed 5th and 6th place, respectively.

On the other hand, Ms. Ylaine Joyce Giangan from Makilala, Cotabato placed 6th of the 12 entries under Arabica category.

Deramos is a national qualifier for the 2023 Young Farmers Challenge (YFC) competition under production category while Giangan is a regional winner under the processing category.(Andy Ango)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *